A Day in the Life

Posted by Nancy Fairbank


Hi! I’m Nancy, a sophomore political science major and McDermott Scholar at UT Dallas. I wanted to give you some insight into what a day might look for me as a McDermott Scholar and a UT Dallas student. Obviously this can’t encompass all of my incredible experiences at this school, so if you have any specific questions feel free to shoot me an email at nancy.fairbank@utdallas.edu!

April 12th, 2015

10:08am. I like to sleep in a little on the weekends so I don’t wake up until my phone rings. My older brother Nate (a senior McDermott) is calling so we can make plans. It’s been our tradition this semester to get brunch together every Sunday. Since we don’t have the same major and are both pretty busy, this is a great way for us to make sure we actually get to see each other before he graduates. We decide to deviate from our usual brunch spots and grab donuts and kolaches instead. I’d never heard of kolaches before I came to Dallas but I’ve been converted. (If you ever drive between Dallas/Austin, you need to stop at the Czech Stop. The kolaches there are incredible + super cheap).

11:30am. I get coffee at Pearl Cup with my McDermott big, Jake VanNattan. (All McDermotts are incorporated into a McDermott family tree). We chat for a bit and then each work on papers. He is writing something very complex related to game theory, and I’m editing a draft for my Creative Writing honor’s class with Dr. Wiesepape.

5:30pm. I went to the Clark Center for the TedxUTD event. I was one of two student speakers giving a Ted Talk, along with seven other professors/professionals. My talk was on teenage homelessness, an issue I’ve been working to spread awareness on since high school. There were eight other McDermotts that came to the event – one of my favorite things about the McDermott program is the community of support it creates.

10:17pm. NEW GAME OF THRONES. Apartment watch party. Argue over the merits and leadership capabilities of Cersei vs. Daenerys vs. Margaery.

11:48pm. Bed.

Leave a Reply

