Escaping Around the World

Posted by Christy Purnadi


I have a confession to make. I have an addiction: escape rooms.1 Before college, I had never heard of escape rooms, but after my first one, I was hooked. Escape rooms have become a large part of my college experience, and in some ways, it has also become a defining trait.  It has allowed me to intellectually challenge myself in the company of good friends and find a hobby that pushes my creative thinking as well as marvel at other people’s.


Statistics:

  • Number of escape rooms: 17
  • Number of escape rooms passed: 15
  • Pass rate: 88.23%
  • Cities escaped from: Dallas, San Francisco, San Jose, Prague, Seoul
  • First escape room: 17 October 2015
  • Most recent escape room: 26 November 2016
  • Largest group: 12 people
  • Smallest group: 2 people

Top 3 Experiences:

  1. Game Over – Mesquite, TX
    This experience will always have a special place in my heart as it was the very first escape room I’ve ever done and got me hooked on escape rooms. To be completely honest, I was blown away. I don’t know what I expected from an escape room, but this definitely surpassed it. There were secret rooms, smoke machines, and Nerf guns. I was impressed by the logical flow and reasoning and how the game makers had thought of all the little details.
    photo-1
  2. The Alchemist’s Chamber – Prague, Czech Republic
    One of my good friends, Josh Cai (’12) always told me this was his favorite escape room in the world, so when I had a chance to go to Prague, I had to take him up on this offer. Honestly, it was a bit more of an impulse decision, but after arriving in Prague, I asked my travel partner if he wanted to do an escape room and we decided we might as well. Some highlights of the room included a springing drawer, different test tubes with chemical reactions, and a magical stone to open the door. It was also a different but fun experience doing an escape room with just one other person. Sometimes with large groups, you lose sight of what’s going on and sometimes even feel useless, but with just the two of us, we both made meaningful contributions and had a clear idea of what was going on and saw the whole story of the room.
    photo-2
  3. Jazz Bar of Death – Seoul, South Korea
    First of all, I thought this was really great conceptually because there were a series of escape rooms that constituted a story line as opposed to a standalone story. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to do all six in the series, but we did do the first, second, and sixth. The Jazz Bar of Death was the final room in the series, and it is probably the most unique escape room I’ve ever done. First, it was interactive. I remember entering the room and being surprised that there was another human being in the room who was acting as a bartender. It was actually really neat how we had to ask certain questions to get the clues we needed, and he gave us clues that were necessary to escape the room. Second, a lot of escape rooms have a “secret room” and the entrance to this one was INCREDIBLE! I don’t know if you’re going to be as fascinated by this as I am, but there was a phone booth and it MOVED! I can’t say this was the best part of South Korea, but it was a great end to a great trip with some wonderful friends.
    Photo 3.jpg

Escape rooms have become an excellent way to explore the world, intellectually challenge myself, and spend time with some of my favorite people. I might be addicted, but it’s not an addiction I plan on fixing anytime soon.


[1]: For those who aren’t familiar with escape rooms, according to Wikipedia, an escape room is a physical adventure game where players are locked in a room and have to use elements of the room to solve a series of puzzles and escape within a set time limit.

Leave a Reply

